Author: Josh Kaufmann

Shamrocks finish second in 16U Nationals

TROY, Mich. — The Anchorage North Stars shut out the Vermont Shamrocks until late in the third period, earning the USA Hockey 16-and-under national championship Monday morning with a 3-1 victory in the title game. Anchorage took advantage of one of 10 Shamrock penalties to open the scoring on a power-play goal 4:07 into the second period, and added a pair of goals in the third period — 8:10 and 12:57 into the 17-minute frame — to pull away. Vermont’s Abigail Gleason scored with 29 seconds remaining, assisted by Piper Desorcie. The Alaska team outshot Vermont 20-16, with Leocadia Clark making 14 saves in 48 minutes while BFA-St. Albans’ Maddie Hungerford stopped all three shots she faced in the final 3 minutes of the game. The Vermont team, which had won the state and New England titles before winning their first five games in the National Championships in Troy, also includes BFA’s Peyton and Elizabeth Dukas, Lizzie Hill, and McKenna...

Read More

Messenger All-County Girls Basketball Team

The Messenger All-County team are chosen by sports editor Josh Kaufmann. FIRST TEAM Kalie Chamberlain, Enosburg Falls High School Megan Domina, BFA-Fairfax Hannah Earl, BFA-St. Albans Andi Esenler, BFA-St. Albans Macy McNall, BFA-Fairfax SECOND TEAM Sadie Fuller, Richford High School Kelly Laggis, BFA-St. Albans Isabella Paquette, Missisquoi Valley Union Klaire Ware, BFA-Fairfax Jenyssa Yates, Enosburg Falls High School HONORABLE MENTION Mariah Archambault, Enosburg Falls High School Jenna Bessette, Enosburg Falls High School Emily Bourdeau, Missisquoi Valley Union Jalynn Collins, Richford High School Alison Irish BFA-Fairfax Christina Jewett, Richford High School Hailie Manchester, Missisquoi Valley Union Lilly McAllister, BFA-St. Albans Bri...

Read More

Messenger All-County Boys Basketball Team

The Messenger All-County team are chosen by sports editor Josh Kaufmann. FIRST TEAM Calvin Carter, Enosburg Falls High School Caleb Laroche,  Enosburg Falls High School Matt Perley, Enosburg Falls High School Jens Ulrich-Verderber, BFA- St. Albans Richard Walker, Missisquoi Valley Union SECOND TEAM Devin Coons, Richford High School Nick Cutting, Missisquoi Vally Union Mahlik Franklin, Enosburg Falls High School Will Harvey, BFA-St. Albans Ben Keogh, BFA- Fairfax HONORABLE MENTION Colby Coons, Richford High School Jordan Demar, BFA-Fairfax Kyle Doan, Richford High School Brady Green, BFA-St. Albans Everett Haddock, BFA – Fairfax Wade McAllister, Enosburg Falls High School Cayden Theberge, Missisquoi Valley Union Riley Wilkin, Missisquoi Valley Union Michael Wright, Missisquoi Vally Union...

Read More

Enosburg wins first boys basketball title

BARRE — It did not come as easily as the opening minutes had foreshadowed, but Enosburg captured its first-ever boys basketball state championship Saturday at The Aud with a dramatic 56-54 win over Mt. St. Joseph Academy in the Division II final. Enosburg opened the game with a 9-2 advantage and appeared headed to an easy evening to finish off its historic 24-0 season. The Mounties, though, quickly regrouped and kept it close before putting together a late rally, cutting a 6-point deficit in half with a fourth-quarter 3-pointer before taking a 54-53 lead. Calvin Carter, Enosburg’s all-time leading scorer, tied it on a...

Read More

Hockey, Boys Basketball Official Pairings

As released Monday morning by the Vermont Principals Association. Earlier posts here had the quarterfinal opponent for BFA-St. Albans girls hockey wrong, and did not account for two 16th-seed teams opting out of tournaments. BOYS HOCKEY Division I Playdowns, Wednesday Colchester (12, 3-15-2) at South Burlington (5, 11-7-2), 5:20 Woodstock (11, 4-15-1) at Middlebury (6, 11-7-2), 7 Rutland (10, 6-14) at U-32 (7, 11-8-1), 6:30 Rice (9, 5-14-1) at Stowe   (8, 8-9-3), 6 Quarterfinals Friday Rutland-U32 winner at BFA-St. Albans (2, 15-2-3), 7:30 Saturday Rice-Stowe winner at Spaulding (1, 16-2-2), 3:30 Woodstock-Middlebury winner at Champlain Valley (3, 11-6-2),...

Read More

2017 United Way of Northwest Vermont Resource Directory